Hiatus

I have not fallen off the map. Just a number of things have happened that have led me to just officially declare this story (and its spin offs) as on hiatus.

Number 1: Writer’s block.

I got writer’s block pretty bad back in December 2014 for all my stories. This one not as bad as the others, but they’re all still connected enough I couldn’t get too far ahead. That’s past for the most part.

Number 2:  Computer issues.

My old computer was at the minimum requirements to run the game with all EP’s and NRaas Story Progression. It didn’t leave much room for rendering clothes. It would take several Sim hours for outfits to render. Between that and getting a taste of what a better card would be like (got a hand-me-down card that lasted for a few months), my desire to load my game and play or get shots was 0.

But I’ve got a new computer now that doesn’t have the rendering issues. Or at least not as bad.

Number 3: Poses/Staged shots

I’m at the point in the stories where I have to get staged shots. And that was never my favorite part of the game and after being away for so long, it’s hard to make myself do it. Not to mention, it’s hard to find the poses and I don’t want to open up the can of worms by learning to make my own poses.

Number 4: WordPress issues

I use Photobucket to upload my pictures and then I link to them on WordPress. WordPress has increasingly made it difficult to put pictures in and make them look good when not uploaded to WordPress directly. First, they made it so I couldn’t change the dimensions by percentages. Which was fine. It wasn’t hard to figure out what width the template was in pixels. But just recently I discovered that they have now made it impossible to put in pictures from other sites unless I use the HTML side, which means opening an earlier post to get the html. Then I have copy and paste and change the URL. It’s so much of a pain, that I’m thinking of going to Blogger again. And that means moving my sites over in post order to Blogger. Which is easier said than done. One more hurdle for getting back into the groove of things.

Number 5: Other interests/Real Life

I bought Sims 4 and it’s a fun game (not my favorite Sims game, but still fun). I also decided to binge watch Criminal Minds. I also played Sims 2. I binged watched most of the original Battlestar Galactica (I tried the new one, there were just some plot points I couldn’t suspend my disbelief on). I’ve also been playing Guild Wars 2 which launched its first expansion pack, Heart of Thorns, in October 2015. In November 2015, I got the Mass Effect Trilogy. And I liked it so much I played it twice in a row. I just finished my second run. I’ve got a Sims 3 Apocalypse Tournament save to play and I got gifted Skyrim and Dragon Age: Origins for Christmas, so I may get sucked into those three before I get back to Random Paths’ universe.

Work also kicked my butt mentally with being busy, not being hard. Except starting a couple of months ago. I got a new job. It started part time, but has gone full time. Once I get better established there, who knows, maybe I’ll get back to this.

What all this means is, it may be a while before I get back, but without me declaring I was on hiatus, I felt guilty playing Sims and that’s not where I want to be. I hope to return one day. But if in on year I’m not back, I will post a page called Plans where I’ll post what my plans for the story were up to where I had left off (and I may write more of the story while on hiatus).

Leave a Reply

