Chapter 1.7 – Complications

Welcome back to another chapter of Random Paths! In the last chapter, Kreia found herself pregnant for a second time and the pregnancy turned out to be a very hard one. It put Kreia on bed rest with doctor’s orders of absolutely no stress. Miranda aged to a toddler and right at the end of the chapter, something went wrong. And now, on with the story.

Brett cried. He was supposed to have five kids, a large farm, and a loving wife who would help him out in the fields and with raising his large family. His father had cautioned him against staying true to that dream as it was a hard one, but an easy dream wasn’t worth striving for.

“Sorry I couldn’t get here sooner, Uncle Brett,” Wolfgang said, pulling his uncle into a hug.

“No need to apologize, I know where you’ve been staying and you had to make sure you got away without making anyone want to follow you,” Brett said, “Thank you for coming, by the way.”

“You’re welcome. How are they?”

“Doctor McKinnon said that she had gone into labor prematurely due to some complication, I was too panicked about Kreia and our unborn child to catch everything. They’re giving her an emergency c-section in hopes of saving Kreia. They gave me small hope about our child.” Brett broke down again.


Wolfgang tightened his hold on his uncle in support. At that moment, a doctor approached them, “Mr. Wallis. The operation is finished. We have good news and bad news. Which would you like to hear first?”

Brett thought, “Bad news.”

“Alright. Due to the complications that caused her to go into labor, your wife is infertile now.”

Brett collapsed down onto a nearby sofa. “And… and the good news?”

“Your wife and your daughter have survived the operation. We weren’t that sure that we’d be able to save your daughter given how premature she is, but signs are looking good. She’ll be in the NICU for awhile though. Your wife is in a medically induced coma in order to be sure her body is given time to heal.”

It was three weeks before Kreia was released from the hospital. She was told to take it easy. But Kreia couldn’t take it easy. She had to reprise her role as Revan and take care of Darius if it wasn’t already too late. She was quickly on the phone with Zachariah and it was soon evident that the time was still right but that the window was about to close.

So she told Zachariah to put it into motion. She just now had to tell Brett.

“The doctor said to take it easy! Going after Darius is not taking it easy, Kreia!” Brett yelled.

“And the window of opportunity will pass us by if we don’t act now, Brett. I have no choice.”

“Another window will present itself!”

“You don’t know that! And I want it to happen while my dad’s still alive. I can do that now. I might not later.”

“I’m sure he’d rather be dead of old age than risk you having complications because you can’t be patient!”

“If I don’t act now, I risk losing some power as Revan. Revan has no weaknesses. Revan has no reason to hold off any longer. I’ve held it off as I long as I can, Brett.” Kreia then went off to feed Miranda and then called the hospital to check on Eva.

Brett stood outside of the house on the evening before the attack was planned. He had feared the worst about the attack on Darius for years and Kreia not being 100% only made that fear worse.

“I figured you’d be out here. Miranda is finally asleep,” Kreia said joining her husband.

“Please don’t go. Revan can get a stomach bug the day of the event and not be able to go,” Brett said sadly after a minute.

“I’m sorry, Brett. I truly am. I want to see the end of the man who is responsible for my brother almost being killed. For being an accomplice in the divorce of my brother and his wife. For the situation that cost Wolfgang his marriage. For killing a large number of your family. I’ve worked so hard to get to this point. I can’t just step back now. I’m sorry.” Kreia apologized, “We can look at adopting kids or using a surrogate when this is over. Just because I’m infertile doesn’t mean our family can’t be large. And I’ll quit and be that farmer’s wife you’ve always dreamed about. My heart isn’t in the criminal career. It’s in stopping Darius and making you happy. You can’t believe how torn I get when those conflict. Like now. I best go get some rest, I’ve got a long day tomorrow.”

And that’s it for this chapter! How will the attack on Darius go? Will Brett’s fear be realized? Find out in chapters to come!

8 comments on “Chapter 1.7 – Complications

  1. Oh no I’m worried about this but I’m glad her daughter survived I just don’t know if everything will go to plan…

  2. amandralynn says:

    I feel bad for brett that he isn’t able to get the large family he has always dreamed off. Kreia should be taking it easy per her doctors orders but isn’t. I’m glad the baby Eva is ok πŸ™‚

    • Seera says:

      Well, Kreia plans to look into things like adoption and/or using a surrogate after dealing with Darius. Her infertility isn’t tied to her eggs.

  3. steffstar says:

    Just caught up! I’m really loving your story. The whole Immortal Mob Council thing is interesting, and I can’t wait to see how Kreia’s story goes. I love that name, by the way. I might have to name some future generation in one of my stories Kreia.

    • Seera says:

      The Immortal Council isn’t a mob. They are the legal government agency of Moonlight Falls. Revan and co know they need occult help to take down Darius and Rosalind. So they reached out to them since they personally knew them.

  4. gemly_teddie says:

    Glad baby and Kreia are ok, but I hope Kreia will still be ok after this mission!!

    GAH!! Why stop it there?!?!?!!?!!!!!

    • Seera says:

      Rescued your comment from spam (probably due to the number of ?’s and !’s next to each other πŸ˜›

      And it stopped there because that was the most logical place to end it.

  5. Oh how sad. Everything is certainly putting a strain on their marriage. I guess I’ll just have to wait to see how it goes. πŸ™‚ Nice chapter.

Leave a Reply

