Chapter 1.6 – Accidents Happen

Welcome back to another chapter of Random Paths! In the last chapter Zachariah began to at least trust Wolfgang Rand, Brett and Kreia came to a compromise about when to start trying for a second child, and Kreia and Wolfgang got hit with a double whammy of bad news from home: Kreia’s half-brother Sion (Wolfgang’s uncle) got caught up in an apocalypse and Kreia’s mother (Wolfgang’s grandmother) passed away from old age. And now on with the story.

I better not be coming down with a stomach bug, Kreia thought after yet again having to interrupt her morning meeting to go puke. If she didn’t know any better, Kreia would have guessed she was pregnant. But she was on the pill currently. And Brett used a condom anyway most nights.

Kreia stepped out of the bathroom to find her nephew holding a brown bag. “What’s in the bag?”

“You’ve been stressed. Does he always use a condom and could you have missed a day or two?” Wolfgang asked, handing Kreia the brown bag, “In the bag is something that should at least get rid of one question.”

“And you’re an expert?”

“My wife has been pregnant twice. And I was a kid when Bailey got pregnant with my twin sisters. I can recognize morning sickness. And you’ve got it bad. Go see a doctor. And let me and Zachariah bear more of the burden.”

“And tell Zachariah what? I can’t let it out that Revan has a weakness.”

Wolfgang pulled his aunt into the sound proof room, “Then call Zachariah in here. Swear his ass to secrecy and tell him. We agents are trained to know who will and who will not crack under pressure. And I did my own weakness searching on Zachariah. He, like Revan, has none. And he’s the type who won’t crack under pressure. He’ll be able to keep Revan’s weakness a secret. He doesn’t have to know you have another child or that you’re even married. He can think you had a one night stand. He just needs to know you’re pregnant.”

“And what if you’ve read him wrong? I can’t risk it. I promised Brett I would keep Kreia and Revan separate. I can’t risk Zachariah making the connection and then someone forcing it out of him. And can you stay here while I go take the test.”

“It’s up to you. I won’t give you up. And yea, I’ll stay here.”

Wolfgang waited for what seemed like ages before Revan returned. He could tell by the look on her face that she was pregnant. As soon as the door closed he pulled his aunt into a hug. “You’ll be able to keep this one safe and be able to be the best mom ever. You at least regret that your career keeps you away from your kids.”

Kreia could tell that the last sentence, while meant as a compliment to her, was also a jab at his mother who had taken to drinking after learning about Darius several years later than she should have. “I know. I just know that I also can’t go after Darius while pregnant. And it’s going to cause problems here. Problems that might cause tension. And tension could wear at the Alliance.”

Wolfgang closed his eyes and fought back tears, “Dammit, Revan, I’ve been trying not to think of what will happen should the Alliance fall apart. We might be divorced, but I still love my wife and I’ve got two kids with another about to be born.”

Kreia just shrugged. “Sorry,” she said. The two talked for a little while longer before going their separate ways.

Brett was preparing dinner when Kreia got home. It was early for Kreia and it made Brett worry. She said she had something to tell him and his heart fell. It was time, it had to be. The day Brett feared the most. He had been having nightmares of a knock on the door and someone telling him that Kreia had been killed by Darius while taking him down. That he would have to raise his daughter alone. “It’s time, isn’t it?” he asked, when Kreia entered the kitchen after chaning.

Kreia blinked a few times and said, “No, not yet. I’m pregnant.”

“You’re what?”

“Pregnant.”

“You don’t look pregnant yet.”

Kreia was about to answer when she looked sick and ran off towards the bathroom. Brett then smiled, she got clued in by morning sickness.

“Sorry, morning sickness. Wolfgang made the connection and got me a pregnancy test.” Kreia said before running off to puke again.

“Should I call an ambulance?”

“No, but I would like to go to our doctor, this pregnancy doesn’t feel right. Probably me taking the pill after I conceived.”

Brett and Kreia went to the doctor’s the next day. After doing several tests, the doctor advised Kreia that while the tests won’t be back for some time, to not put herself under a stress and to take the pregnancy easy. Just to reduce chances of further complications from occurring.

Kreia mentally sighed. She wasn’t going to be able to completely relax. Not if she wanted to keep up the Revan masquerade. So Kreia spent several hours a day in one of the unfinished rooms in the house on the phone with various associates in Storybrook County and other places, trying to keep the build up to fight Darius going.

Things were going great. Kreia was amazed at how much work she could get done. If she was on the phone with Wolfgang, she could even help out around the house without worrying about breaking her cover. So she called Wolfgang a lot. Which she was sure was pissing off the other criminals. But Wolfgang couldn’t really do much.

Darius had gotten wind of the Alliance, Kreia knew the protection looking like kidnapping was only going to last for a short while. And so Wolfgang had a bigger target on his back now that he wasn’t just Sinbad’s grandson. He’s Sinbad’s grandson and a threat. So Wolfgang was having to hole up, reducing his ability to move. Kreia would have called Wolfgang just as much even if they weren’t related. Keeps her associates free to do what they need to do.

“We’ve been given the word by Kerry. The time to strike Darius is now,” Zachariah said over the phone one evening.

Shit! Kreia swore, “We’re not completely ready yet.” And we won’t be for another three months. Damn pregnancy! Kreia thought.

“What do you mean we’re not ready yet? What’s left to do?”

“The little details. Hashing it out with the other mafias making sure they’ve got their acts together. I’ve still got a list to work through.” Which will take all of two days and Zachariah knows it.

“That will take just a couple of days or so. We can put in the go ahead to move into position.”

“You’ll wait for my word and that is final. Do not disobey me.” Kreia said and hung up, “He better not try usurping my command.”

“I need to get out of this place for a bit.” Wolfgang said, throwing his hands in the air. It was true, he definitely was feeling stir crazy. But he knew his aunt was six months pregnant and no amount of yelling from Zachariah was going to speed her pregnancy along. But who knows if the timing would still be right in three months. It had already been a few days since Kerry called.

“And you’ll put whomever your with in danger,” Zachariah stated.

“I’ll go to my aunt’s. She’s a Rand by birth she and her family have a target on them already,” Wolfgang shrugged, “I’ll be careful, Mother.” He smirked and headed off.

“I need to have a word with Aunt Kreia, Uncle Brett,” Wolfgang said.

“You’re going to get her to go after Darius this pregnant!” Brett yelled.

“No, definitely not,” Wolfgang said, “I’m going to try to convince Kreia to let the mission go on without her.”

“Just tread carefully. The arguing from her coworkers has got her stressed out and she’s been put on bed rest for the remaining three months.”

“Shit, I’m sorry, Uncle Brett. I wasn’t aware that the pregnancy was this bad. She hasn’t really spoken much about it, just said that she was pregnant and had it confirmed by the doctor. I won’t push too hard.”

“Can I come in, Aunt Kreia?” Wolfgang asked.

“Yea,” Kreia said, “What in the world brings you out hiding?”

“Kerry’s news that the time is now. We don’t have to have you to pull this off, Kreia.”

“Don’t care, I’m going. Yes, I know what that could mean but there’s nothing that will change my mind, Wolfgang.”

“Well, I promised Uncle Brett I wouldn’t push you too hard so I guess I’ll stop.” Wolfgang said. He said his goodbyes to his aunt and uncle and headed back to the hide out.

Time went on at the Wallis residence. Brett had taken away Kreia’s work phone after one too many arguments with her accomplices. And soon Miranda was a toddler. Kreia’s inclination was right. She did have her grandmother’s black hair and her grandmother’s green eyes.

Miranda was an easy toddler and was learning quickly. Brett enjoyed playing with her outside and it was a few days after her toddler birthday when he had her out playing in the grass for the first time. Miranda loved it. It was a bit nippy outside so Brett was a bit unsure if Miranda would.

“Brett!”

Brett immediately stopped what he was doing. He could hear the panic in his wife’s voice. Something was wrong. Very wrong.

And that’s it for this chapter! What’s wrong with Kreia? Will the perfect time pass before Kreia is willing to give the go ahead? Find out in chapters to come!

7 comments on “Chapter 1.6 – Accidents Happen

  1. gemly_teddie says:

    :O DON’T LEAVE IT THERE!!!

    I’m very surprised that Kreia… I mean, Revan’s employees haven’t gone ahead without her! They must be very loyal, and I bet they’re all wondering where she’s gone!

    I’m thinking Kreia is either in labour, or theres some evil villan across the street about to pounce on her husband and daughter!

    • Seera says:

      Revan is pretty ruthless. She doesn’t play nice. They fear what she would do if they went after Darius without her knowing she’s been gunning for him since the day she joined them. Even her nephew isn’t pushing them to just go on without her.

      And yes, I had to end it there. And you’ll just have to wait and see why Kreia is yelling for Brett 😛

  2. Oh no I’m really worried about her now, I hope nothing bad’s going to happen, I feel like she might have gone into ;labor…

  3. Aww dang. The thing Kreia didn’t want to happen did. LOL. Good drama in this chapter.

    • Seera says:

      The story pace is picking up. All time for the chapter in which shit goes down and the author runs and hides.

  4. amandralynn says:

    Gah! Is she going into early labor? So much drama in this chapter, love it!

Leave a Reply

