Chapter 1.0 – Trust

Kreia Rand arrived at the address Brett Wallis had given her a couple of hours before she expected. Traffic through Bridgeport wasn’t as bad as she thought it was going to be. She knocked on the door and no one answered. She figured he must be out running errands so she used the key Brett had mailed her after she agreed to move in with him and stepped into the place.

She remembered answering the ad. The ad had simply requested a room mate to bring in steady income between crops. And had said he had a preference for those with some gardening knowledge. Kreia had done some research and gotten in touch with a local crime family in Storybrook County and got herself lined up with a regular gig that would bring in steady income. She then answered Brett Wallis’s ad. Of course she didn’t mention her criminal job. That would be for when she moved in.

And it looks like they both had kept something from each other. Brett had failed to mention the house was a fixer upper. Kreia had failed to mention what her career path was. And Kreia had learned from experience that keeping secrets was caustic to relationships. And if they were going to live together, they needed to trust each other to some degree. Her father Sinbad had kept his criminal career a secret from his wife and Kreia’s mother Mira. Discovering what his career path was came very close to ending the marriage of Sinbad and Mira.

“I see you found the place alright,” Brett Wallis said, startling Kreia.

“Yea. I imagined it would be more of a house than this, though.”

“I didn’t want to scare away potential room mates by mentioning that detail.”

“If it makes you feel any better, I left a detail out of my response. My career. It will bring a steady income. However, it’s not one that many do not take issue with.”

“What do you mean?”

“My career isn’t exactly legal, Brett.”

“You’re a criminal? How is that going to bring in income if you’re in jail?”

“I don’t plan on getting thrown in jail. And if it’s for more than three months, I give you the right to put my shit in storage and find a new room mate. But if this is a deal breaker, I can go stay at a hotel until I can get an apartment. I just felt you had a right to know what my job was. And I won’t think any of less of you if you decide you don’t want to take the risk with me.” Something about the pink haired man made it a bit hard to just be mean to him.

Brett blinked. On one hand her job would be dangerous. But on the other hand, she was honest about it. She could have lied about her job and left Brett in the dark until the police came knocking. And she would harbor no hard feelings if he kicked her out after she spent money and time coming here all the way from Moonlight Falls. But a career criminal had been the one to murder a huge chunk of his family’s tree on his father’s side of the family if you followed it back far enough. And based on where that was, he had a feeling the career criminal had been trying to get every person even remotely related to that side of the family. Could he trust Kreia to not be that kind of criminal?

He glanced at the pile of bills on the kitchen table and sighed. His hands were tied, though. He had no choice but to at least give Kreia a chance. She was his only chance of keeping the house until the farm was up and running. “We’ll give it a shot. At least until my crops come in. We’ll revisit the arrangement at that time.”

“Sounds fair to me.”

Much to both of their surprise, the pair of them quickly fell into a routine. Kreia cleaned up the place and repaired anything that broke. Brett was in charge of cooking and shopping. The only problem was, beyond any required interaction, Brett was doing his hardest to avoid any interaction with Kreia. It was beginning to piss Kreia off.

One morning, Kreia decided enough was enough. “We need to talk, Brett.”

“Why?”

“You’re avoiding me.”

“Well, the last few times I tried to interact with you, you’ve been anxious to get away from me. Most people did that where I’m from because well, pink hair isn’t normal.”

Kreia laughed. “Trust me, I wasn’t anxious to get away from you because your hair is pink. I’ve just got something on my mind that tends to pull all of my focus. And you do know what types of people live in Moonlight Falls, right?”

Brett smiled sheepishly, “Sorry about avoiding you, then. And I don’t think it’s a town for anything super special or anything.”

Kreia nodded in response to the apology and said, “Moonlight Falls is the town where supernatural Sims live and follow their customs. Vampires, werewolves, genies, fairies, ghosts, and witches. One of my family’s closest friends has blue skin due to him being a genie. Another has big eyes like you do, actually. I don’t think it’s related to him being a werewolf, though.”

And that discussion marked a turning point in their relationship. The pair soon became friends and good ones at that.

As both had lived in more city type places where the lights of the town dimmed the stars, the pair would find themselves outside at night pointing out constellations they found interesting.

Kreia somewhat regretted her career choice after becoming friends with Brett. Considering her plans it would put Brett at risk. But Darius had to be dealt with. Darius, the crime leader of Bridgeport and Twinbrook, had put a hit on her family and had already attempted to carry it out once, almost killing her older brother Atton in the process. Her friendship with Brett just upped the timetable on when she needed to tell Brett about her long term plans and her reason. She just hoped she could get high enough fast enough.

She had been going under a pseudonym at work. Just in case she did get on Darius’s radar. She went by the name Revan. It just came to her one day while as a teen after being told she couldn’t join the criminal career by her father. And she was careful to not mention the name to anyone, especially her family.

Brett’s small farm was coming along nicely. He just hoped enough of a crop came in before winter set in. He didn’t want to have to rely solely on Kreia’s income. Because who knows how successful she would be. Friend or not, her job wasn’t that predictable.

But the pair still didn’t have enough money to even begin the major renovation on their house. They had decided to keep to just the necessities until they had at least a roof over their head. If Kreia’s career and Brett’s farm didn’t require them to be on this side of town, they might have decided to crash at the local fire station. Like all fire stations in Sim Nation, it was a spot for the homeless to crash.

They currently even didn’t even have money for a simple stove. They were living off of salads and sandwiches. And cereal. The low stream of funds coming into the house was putting a strain on the friendship between Kreia and Brett. Kreia’s income had been a bit spotty the past couple of days and then she had to lay low for a bit. Which meant no money was coming into the house. And that had been a source of arguments those couple of days.

“Look, Brett. I’m working on it. Us low guys get to take the fall for the higher ups. I’m hoping I’ll start to show my merit and how useful I am sooner rather than later. But I’m not exactly the first person they look to. One I’m female. Good criminals tend to be male. Second, I’m still new to the town. No one really knows of me. They don’t have tales of my school yard brawls and what not. But once I start making an impression, I should climb quickly.” Hopefully. I need to be high in order to take care of Darius, Kreia thought.

“Winter is coming. My farm isn’t big enough yet to tide us through winter. Your income is going to be what gets us through.”

“My sister in law has some indoor gardening pots. While it won’t be a huge amount, maybe grow some herbs and stuff inside the little shack we have. Surely there must be a need for alchemy herbs.”

“So you’re saying your income isn’t going to be enough?”

“No, Brett, I’m not saying that. I’m saying that there are ways to grow plants when it’s too cold outside.”

Brett took a couple of deep breaths and said, “Alright, we should have enough money for that come winter between our two incomes. Or you could get a legal, stable job instead of being a crook.”

Kreia threw her hands in the air, “Look, Brett. I have my reasons for being in the career I’m in and no, I do not feel ready to tell them to you. And it’s not because I don’t trust you. I do. I don’t trust my coworkers should they find out I live with you.”

“Will you ever tell me those reasons?”

“Yes, when I feel confident enough in my position in the organization. Where if they get wind of it somehow, they won’t think I’m crazy.”

“I’ll hold you to that.”

And that is the end of this chapter! Will Kreia reach the point where she feels comfortable opening up to Brett fast enough for Brett or will the issue be a sore spot for the room mates? And will either of them find their special someone? Find out in chapters to come!

13 comments on “Chapter 1.0 – Trust

  1. Oooh! Nice beginning! What on earth made criminals kill off almost all of Brett’s dad’s side of the family? And why is the hit out against Kreia’s brother if her dad is a criminal? I’m all intrigued!

    • Seera says:

      I have some grey area criminals and I have some criminals that are very very definitely as black as they can possibly get. And the answers to your questions will come out over the course of the story.

  2. Oooh interesting positions regarding her criminal job! She’s got her reasons, and he’s got reasons to be suspicious of what kind of person it will make her. The arguments over money were very realistic too. Good start.

  3. gemly_teddie says:

    Good start 😀
    Intregued (no idea how to spell that, hope you know what I mean!) as to how it will all work out! Will Brett kick Kreia out before she gets a steady enough income? Will they stay just friends, or are their babies in their future together? 🙂

  4. caterpillar says:

    Hey, Seera,
    I’m sorry I missed your first chapter when it went up! I’ve been so behind lately.
    Anyway, great start! I’m looking forward to seeing what happens with Brett and Kreia. They’re already forming a friendship–will it be more? Looking forward to finding out!

    -calisims

  5. notthemanhattenproject says:

    I’m a little jealous of the justification you came up with for why your founder is in the Crminal career. My founder is in that career as well, and it didn’t occur to me to give her such an intriguing backstory-related reason for it.

    • Seera says:

      If she had not been a generation 2 spare of my Differences in the Family Tree challenge, I might not have had the back story I have now. Her back story is the result of me having to put a story explanation in for a sudden move due to getting a new computer half way through a generation.

  6. amandralynn says:

    Seemed like things went great at first. He seemed to be ok or at least tolerate her choice of career. Now it seems that he’s changing his mind. I hope that doesn’t get in the way of there friendship

    • Seera says:

      He tolerates it as long as it brings in money. If he hadn’t been so hard pressed for cash, he probably would have told Kreia to go find a hotel until she could find another place to live.

  7. Oh I hope that he understands why she’s a criminal even if he doesn’t agree with it, and I’m glad she’s determined to take Dairus down and shes Revan as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

